VPS: Thoughts for a commercial release

As a dev, I have been using private scans for my VPS apps so far, they’re really easy to use and test with the remote auth tool, even test at home, etc. More importantly, private scans let me be quite flexible with the particular case I am after: I can scan an entire area, like a park, and then use all the scans to overlay a mesh on real geometry (achieving far-away occlusion and navigation manipulation) and just one scan for the localization part.

Thinking ahead, I believe this functionality will be necessary for my app if I decide to publish it. But, since private scans exist for me only and since they have a time-limit period, I am bound to replace them with public scans. But this would mean that I won’t have a mesh of the entire park, i.e. my app will be useless.

So, my question is simple: when thinking of a commercial release using vps, would it be a good idea for Niantic to reconsider the way private scans are used and let devs use private scans in their releases if they wish instead of just public ones?

Hi @Manos_Tsotros!

While it is unlikely that private scans will be supported for non-development purposes in the near future, I’ve gone ahead and raised your input as a feature request for consideration by the team.