While running app on Phone, camera is of lower quality than expected

Real-time Mapping-Depth / ARDK Documentation
Android: version 11
On Device / Dev Portal
ARDK version: v1.3.0
Unity version: 2020.3.32f1

Description of the issue:

I’ve completed a few of the tutorials like GettingStarted, Placement, and Occlusions and I noticed that when running the apk on my phone the camera quality has dropped from what I see if I run the native camera app, or any other app that uses the camera. I also have noticed that it doesn’t seem to focus or clarify the view at all. I imagine I am missing something in my initial setup or perhaps some kind of positioning/scaling mistake, but I’m not even certain where to start.

I’ve attached two images of the same door. The first is from my phone’s camera and the second from the tutorial apk.

I’m fairly new to all of this, but I appreciate the chance to learn. Thank you in advance.

3 Likes

Hey Alexander,

I have a few requests and questions for you…

• First could you tell us a bit more about the hardware you are using? Specifically the make and model of your phone?
  • If you think that running example scenes is the culprit for the drop in performance then try running scenes that don’t require much, i.e. the meshing example
  • If that does not work could you please show me what your scripts look like that you are using to access the ARDK features. If you could screenshot them or print them out in a text file that I can download that would be a great way to start. If you are not comfortable with that you can also email myself at jasonrose@lightship.dev with your scripts. It is the first place I would troubleshoot if something is not looking correct.

Jason thanks for the reply!

• I am using an LG Wing. I’ve made a few Image tracking Unity AR apps using Vuforia and EasyAR without any noticeable loss in camera quality, while maintaining autofocus.

• I’ll try the meshing example tomorrow and report back.