Difference in mesh functionality between iOS and Android?

Include the following details (edit as applicable):

• Issue category: Meshing
  • Device type & OS version: Android vs iOS
  • Issue Environment : On Device
  • ARDK version: v1.1.0
  • Unity version: 2021.2.7f1

Description of the issue:

I’m finding that generating items onto a mesh, similar to the garden chunks example, doesn’t work the same way on Android as it does on iOS. For me, I get items generating on iOS but no items generate on Android. It seems to still be finding a mesh when I turn the mesh visible… but maybe the mseh isn’t quite as stable? I’ve tested on both a Samsung Galaxy S10+ and an older Pixel 2, both with similar results.

Is there a difference in how to handle meshing on iOS compared to Android? Any tips on meshing on Android that might help?

Hello Patrick,

Would you be able to share a video of the exp you are seeing between the two different Mobile OS’?
As an Android Engineer myself and keeping up with the mobile AR space since 2016, my first impression is that Android, unfortunately, is just not there yet in terms of technical maturity in this space compared to iOS. From working on iOS with multiple hackathons and AR applications, it seems like the AR tech there (ARKit) is more robust and further ahead than Android (ARCore).

Hopefully the difference in the exp is not a setback for you and your project!

1 Like

I’ll try to get some video comparisons tomorrow — I think even if the meshing isn’t quite as performant, as long as I can generate objects into the world space to some extent, it’ll be enough for the game for now. If I can’t get anything to generate… then the whole game won’t work on Android :sweat_smile:

I’ve got an idea around gradually reducing the min vertex count required to generate items… in case maybe vertex counts aren’t quite as high on Android?

Any other ideas also much appreciated, but I’ll have a video or two coming soon too in case that helps :slight_smile: