Unity and ARDK 2.5.2 Gradle Build fail

• Issue category: Beginner tutorial
  • Device type & OS version: Android
  • Host machine & OS version: Mac Intel Ventura 13.4.1
  • Issue Environment: Unity
  • ARDK version: 2.5.2
  • Unity version: 2020 and 2021.3.27f1

Description of the issue:
Hi. I am brand new to Lightship and am not a happy bunny after following all instructions for the very first beginner tutorial that will not build and following many many MANY suggestions (and wasted days) on how to fix the problem all to no avail. Here’s what I have tried so far:

• Followed all instructions on ’ Getting Started With ARDK’
  • Initially tried using Unity version 2020 (as recommeded on the tutorial) which didn’t work and then tried another(!) recommended version 2021.3.27f1 as a stable version that will build to Android which also didn’t work
  • Got the latest version of Gradle and linking to it via settings
  • Custom Base Gradle Template is set to plugin version 4.2.0
  • Tried various combinations of Minimum API Level and Target API level via the tutorial and also online forums where people said they had success - none of which worked for me

Here are the errors (using Minimum API Level 7.1 and Target API level 31).
I couldn’t add any more detail as I am new here and it wont let me (which is stupid as I can’t show you the full errors! Can you tell I am frustrated?).
Any help would be gratefully appreciated:

Deprecated Gradle features were used in this build, making it incompatible with Gradle 9.0.

You can use ‘–warning-mode all’ to show the individual deprecation warnings and determine if they come from your own scripts or plugins.

Picked up JAVA_TOOL_OPTIONS: -Dfile.encoding=UTF-8

FAILURE: Build failed with an exception.

• What went wrong:

A problem occurred configuring project ‘:unityLibrary’.

Failed to notify project evaluation listener.

……….org/gradle/api/plugins/MavenPlugin

• Try:

Run with --stacktrace option to get the stack trace.