ARDK 1.1.0 seems *fairly broken* in multiple areas - mocking, remoting, general setup issues:(

I’ve been trying to get into lightship dev lately and, boy, life isn’t easy. I really want to love this SDK and it has a lot of really promising features but, shucks y’all, you’re making it hard…

I’m an experienced XR dev and I don’t think I’ve ever encountered such a painful mismatch between expected behavior (based on the plentiful docs and tuts) and actual SDK behavior. Respectfully, I think it would behoove whoever owns your learning resources - to dogfood the tutorials from scratch with 1.1.0, and particularly the getting started and virtual studio materials, because I’m seeing many of these problems echoed across the forums. I think the latest version might be seriously broken across multiple areas, Unity versions and OSs.

To confirm the prerequisites, I have (in multiple projects, multiple times, in multiple OS’s, and multiple versions of unity, including 2019 LTS, 2020 LTS and 2021 LTS):

• created a Resources/ARDK folder at the root of my project and added my API key
  • set the build target to either iOS (OSX) or Android (PC)
  • created an ARDK_MockWorld layer and assigned it per the instructions to the parent mock world prefab and every child recursively (anytime I try to use one, that is)
  • followed various tutorials (primarily “getting started”, “virtual studio” and “meshing”)

Now, the following is consistently broken for me on both OSX and PC:

• The old ardk_client_platform error. Every time. Everywhere, incl. OSX. (Full error attached below)

• When running the Semantic Segmentation, Depth and Meshing examples (the only feature-specific ones I’ve tried), the relevant buttons disappear and I’m getting a black screen (see screenshot below). This is out of the box in both OSX and PC. Aside from the ardk_client_platform thing, no other errors.

• Virtual Studio simply does. Not. Work. That is to say: